Inner Line Permit Explained And Where Even Indians Need Permission To Visit

Inner Line Permit

Inner Line Permit (ILP) is a document required for Indian citizens to enter certain restricted areas in the northeastern states of Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, and Nagaland. The permit is issued by the government and is intended to regulate the movement of people from outside the states in order to protect the rights of the indigenous populations and their cultures.

In the state of Sikkim, foreigners are required to obtain Protected and Restricted (which are on the strength of a valid Indian Visa) areas permits for entry into certain regions of the state that have been designated as protected or restricted for environmental and cultural preservation or security reasons.

The ILP system is based on the Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulations, 1873, which were implemented by the British government to protect their commercial interests in the region.

Visitors are required to obtain an ILP before entering these states and it’s issued by the government. It’s important to note that the rules and regulations for obtaining an ILP may vary depending on the specific state and the purpose of the visit. The demand for the implementation of the ILP in other states of the Northeast has grown in recent years due to concerns about the potential influx of immigrants from other parts of India as a result of the Citizenship (Amendment) Act.

Here is the list of Northeast states where an Inner Line Permit (ILP) is required:

Arunachal Pradesh


Arunachal Pradesh is a restricted area and visitors, other than natives, must obtain an Inner Line Permit (ILP) to enter the state. The permit is easily obtainable and should not discourage tourism. ILPs can be obtained from the Secretary (Political) of the Government of Arunachal Pradesh, district Deputy Commissioners and Additional Deputy Commissioners, Resident Commissioner’s office, and Deputy Resident Commissioner & Liaison Offices.

An Inner Line Permit (ILP) can be obtained through the official website of Arunachal Pradesh Inner Line Permit Management System, which can be found at Information on the procedures and requirements can also be found on the website.



An Inner Line Permit (ILP) is required for non-locals to enter and stay in the Indian state of Manipur. The permit can be obtained through the official website of the Manipur Inner Line Permit System, which is designed to regulate and monitor the entry of non-locals into the state. The permit can also be obtained from designated offices in the state, and it is usually issued for a period of 15 days, although it can be extended. The ILP is intended to protect the rights and interests of the local population and to maintain peace and security in the state.

Visitors to the state can now fill Manipur Inner Line Permit Apply Online Form online mode at the official website.



Mizoram is a northeastern state in India known for its scenic landscapes and tribal communities. Visitors must obtain a special permit, known as an Inner Line Pass, to enter the state. This permit can be obtained from government Liaison Officers in cities such as Kolkata, Silchar, Shillong, Guwahati, and New Delhi. Government employees traveling for official purposes are exempt from obtaining an Inner Line Permit, but must carry a photo identification card.

Foreign nationals must register with the Superintendent of Police (CID/SB) within 24 hours of arrival.

Citizens of Afghanistan, China, and Pakistan, as well as foreign nationals of these origins, must also obtain prior approval from the Ministry of Home Affairs before entering Mizoram.

Online portal for obtaining Inner Liner Permit



Nagaland is a northeastern state known for its towering landscapes, lush greenery, and picturesque attractions. Located between Myanmar, Assam, Manipur, and Arunachal Pradesh, it is one of the least populous and smallest states in India. Visitors must obtain an Inner Line Permit, which can be obtained from any Nagaland Government office or Nagaland House.

Both Indian citizens and foreigners who are not native to Nagaland must obtain an Inner Line Permit (ILP) in order to enter the state for a limited period. The ILP must be obtained in the form and with the conditions prescribed by the Government of Nagaland.

Visitors can apply for an Inner Line Permit (ILP) here.


Rumtek Monastery

To visit Sikkim, foreigners must obtain a Restricted Area Permit (RAP) (formerly known as Inner Line Permit) from Sikkim Tourism Officers based on a valid Indian Visa. For those planning to trek in the interior regions of the state, the Tourism and Civil Aviation department issues a Protected Area Permit (PAP) in Gangtok, which is available for certain designated areas for groups of two or more foreigners.

These permits are subject to the condition that the trekking program is arranged through a registered travel agency. Inner Line Permit (ILP) can also be obtained from all Indian Missions, Sikkim Tourism Offices in New Delhi, Kolkata, and the District Magistrates Office of Darjeeling, Siliguri, and Rangpo.

To know more about Protected and Restricted areas permits in Sikkim click here.

To know more about the State Tourism Information please click the link here.

Regulations and guidelines shall not apply to foreigners who shall be regulated and governed by Foreigners (Protected Area) Order, 1958 made under the provision of the Foreigners Act, 1946, and the Passport (Entry into India) Rules, 1950, and subsequent amendments.

Leave a Reply

This Post Has 13 Comments